Poem Inside of Fear and Confusion and Extra Confusion

I am dipping my feet in the river

I am grasping for something, I couldn’t tell you what it was

waiting on keen eyes

summoning daily spirit owls, who are mothers

to other owls,

who hover above my stoop and feed me the small bone sacs

of their consumed preys

 

I am heading to the mosque

I am putting on the yarmulka

I am bowing, three times, before Hotei

 

if what’s bad is good

I’m doing great

 

if the sense of self being destroyed

is the thing you really want

I am having a broken self party

at every waking moment inside the screams of myself,

in the comfort of home,

comes the teaching of Jesus Christ

 

take off your mask

and realize your small self

kiss yourself in the face

nothing is worth anything, where is the illusion?

what could you do to win a game whose rules you never knew?

if a game is made that has no rules as a rule

and your only job is to win

but there is no goal

and no rule

and nothing to stop you from winning, say to yourself

I’ve won

my god I’ve won

I am taking a victory lap I won a long time ago

look mom

I won it all

I’m gathering the money in both of my arms

some is falling through my elbows and I don’t care

I’m a winner

I won it all

I won it all

come save me from my winnings

come help me spend this money

come comfort me I won it all

About vurinstitute

Horatio Somersault is the Director and Regent Chancellor of the VUR Institute, a think tank involving some as-yet-unknown and slightly spooky manipulations of time and interdimensionality. In his spare time Somersault enjoys writing poems and fables. You can read his writings, as well as those of other VUR inhabitants, at vurinstitute.wordpress.com. Though he lives a wanderer's life, his hometown is a domed biome inside the water core of the moon Europa. You can follow his experiences adapting to the customs of the early 21st century on his Twitter @VURdirector and can email him at vurinstitute at gmail dot com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

